Change in Postbank Supervisory Board

Frank Appel resigns position on Supervisory Board / Rainer Neske to be appointed to Supervisory Board / Changes in the Supervisory Board reflect new shareholder structure

Press release of Dec. 02, 2010

Effective December 31, 2010, Frank Appel will resign his position on the Supervisory Board and step down as Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Deutsche Postbank AG. In resigning from the Supervisory Board, Appel is acknowledging the changes in the shareholder structure of Postbank and facilitates Postbank´s transition to it´s new majority shareholder Deutsche Bank AG.

Rainer Neske, member of Deutsche Bank´s Management Board and Head of Private & Business Clients should be appointed to Postbank's Supervisory Board in the coming weeks.

“It has always been and will continue to be an objective of Deutsche Post to assist Postbank in achieving its ambitious growth targets. The new shareholder structure reflects a clear and reliable outlook for Postbank's employees,” commented Frank Appel. He was appointed Chairman of Postbank's Supervisory Board in 2008 being the representative of Postbank's former largest shareholder Deutsche Post.

Stefan Jütte, Chairman of Postbank's Management Board, personally thanked Appel for his contribution to a constructive working relationship. “As Chairman of the Supervisory Board and as representative of Deutsche Post, Appel provided crucial support to Postbank in difficult times, allowing the bank to successfully conquer the financial and banking crisis. The entire Postbank Group demonstrates it´s respect and gratitude.”


Joachim Strunk
Head of Corporate Communications